A Survey on Tor Browser Users: User study of Tor relay operators attitudes towards automatic updates

Hello Everybody! My name is Donglin, and I’m a student at the University of Edinburgh. I’m doing my final project, which aims to learn the Tor browser users’ awareness and perceptions of security regarding the update of Tor relays. As part of this project, I am conducting a survey focusing on Tor browser users and would greatly appreciate your valuable insights. The survey is open to individuals who have ever used the Tor browser, and it does not require any prior background knowledge.

This survey consists of 24 questions, and it is anticipated to take approximately 10 to 15 minutes to complete. Your participation will be entirely anonymous, no login or sensitive information is required. Your responses will be confidential and used for research purposes only.

How to participate:

I created the survey on BlockSurvey, which is a privacy-first survey platform with no ads, trackers, or cookies, and employs end-to-end encryption. And BlockSurvey doesn’t block access over Tor network.

BlockSurvey link: Tor User Study

2 Likes

At first page of your link I see “… study on Tor browser users about their awareness and attitudes regarding the update status and mechanisms of Tor relays.”
At second page, - “User study of Tor relay operators attitudes towards automatic updates”.
“Tor browser users” and “Tor relay operators” are generally different groups of people. So what it is about really?

1 Like

Thanks for your question! The project name is “User study of Tor relay operators attitudes towards automatic updates”, there are three students doing this project individually, one of us has been engaging with Tor relay operators, another is focusing on Tor developers. My task, through this survey, is to learn the opinions of Tor browser users (specifically, Tor browser users’ awareness and attitudes regarding regarding the update status and mechanisms of Tor relays).

1 Like