Tor Browser having weird font while other browser doesn't

I am using the Tor Browser on Linux, it is updated. But there is one problem, Tor Browser has a weird font (Times New Roman?) while the other browser on my computer, which is Brave doesn’t have that font and looks normal. If I want the Tor Browser’s font to look like the one on Brave, what do I have to do?

Tor Browser:
UPLOAD
Brave:
UPLOAD2

2 Likes

Hi :slight_smile:

Tor Browser bundles all the fonts used (all on Linux, on Mac and Windows it’s almost all fonts are bundled). It does not use your system fonts at all. You can inspect an element (right click > inspect) and use the font inspector

It really depends on the character (and language if specified) as to the font used. The fonts for monospace, sans-serif and serif in Linux are Arimo, Cousine and Tinos (not sure which is which, I am not a font expert and not on linux right now)

Brave is not even a comparable browser since it’s based on blink. Tor Browser is built using gecko

2 Likes

Arimo is sans-serif, metrics-compatible with Arial, Cousine is monospace, metrics-compatible with Courier New and Tinos is serif, metrics-compatible with Times New Roman (you can remember which one is which thanks to the initial).

Good sites will add generic names at the end of font-family (it seems the site you’re visiting doesn’t).
However, for bad sites, we’re planning of adding aliases from these MS font names to the alternatives we use (we can’t redistribute Microsoft fonts due to their license).
We’re still evaluating whether targeting 13.5 or 14.0 because fonts are fingeprinting 101 (but serious script will still be able to tell the difference between 13.0 and 13.5).
We might add Courier (not Courier New), Helvetica and Times as well, even though they aren’t perfect equivalent (but Windows also aliases Helvetica to Arial).
We are not considering to add other metric-incompatible aliases (e.g., Verdana, Tahoma, etc etc).