SSH over Tor including unto Onion Service

Hello. I am new to Linux and using tor, outside of using the Tor browser. So far I’ve been using the tor service as a proxy for certain other programs, like other browsers and for downloading things. Only no torrenting.

Usually I’ll simply add some --proxy socks5://localhost:9050 style option to a command, and things will work. Whether they work ‘right’ or not I’m not always sure seeing as I’m still green in the boots. I’ve had trouble simply adding ‘torsocks’ before the command as that will usually generate an error, though I seem to remember adding it along with the proxy option has worked.

In trying to use SSH over tor locally, either aiming at my onion address on a different machine or simply that machine as per usual ssh, I’ve tried the following methods:

simply using ‘torsocks ssh -p [somePort] user@[ipAddress]/[.onion]’

I’ve added ProxyCommand:

‘-o ProxyCommand=“torsocks nc %h %p”’ , where I’ve also added torsocks before the entire command instead, or also removed it before the netcat line.

I’ve also tried adding socks5://localhost:9050 through ProxyJump by my own figuring.

I’ve used the config file for all of the above, and I’ve used the command line.

I’ve gotten one of a few different general socks5 server errors last few times I’ve tried these, but I’ll stop there for now. Might be a real obvious answer, so I’ll await any questions before this gets too messy.

did you already try ask google ? i found this stuff

1 Like

Connecting to a ssh server via tor works perfectly with this in your ~/.ssh/config

Host whatever
   Hostname yourtoraddress.onion
   Proxycommand socat - SOCKS4A:localhost:%h:%p,socksport=9050

(make sure tor is running/listening on port 9050, and that you have socat installed).

1 Like