Isolated Email Account

I am very new to all this (meaning strong privacy and anonymity, tails, tor, etc.)

I hope I am not intruding, or posting inappropriately. First let me say that I am NOT repeat NOT wanting to do anything illegal, harmful, or even unethical. I just want privacy. I have my reasons, and I’ll leave it at that.

What I want is a truly isolated email account for which I do not have to provide ANY personally identifiable information that gets back to my real identity. Proton wants a real permanent “backup” email. Tutanota seems to be hostile to tor.

My Requirements:
– Hosted in a country with strict privacy laws and not one of the five eyes
– Tor-friendly, even better if they have a .onion service
– Only want to supply them with a userid and strong password. That’s it. No backup emails, no phone 2FA, none of that.
– A paid service is fine as long as I can use BTC, or even better XMR(monero)
– I am even willing to pay to set up my own domain, provided I can do it with the same isolation requirements as above)

Futher I’d like to know if anyone can recommend other forum sites where issues like mine (strong, isolated anonymity and privacy) are discussed.

Thanks so much for any help you can give.

1 Like

Tutanota accepts Tor Browser users creating email accounts with their service for free as in gratis: see this blog article for further details.

I have a shortlist of webmail providers that do not have secondary requirements and are free as in gratis, but they may or may not be hosted in the Five Eyes; I do not consider it in my threat model. Other than Tutanota, I have not tested the others for Tor-friendliness.

My specific testing criteria was: English; free tier without third-party invitation requirements and/or a trial period; no advertisements; no email address and/or phone number requirements for signup and/or service usage.