Confusion about censorship vs. avoiding detection

We now have four bridge types to avoid censorship. These are obfs4, meek, snowflake, and now webtunnel. However, I am not interested in censorship, since this is not a problem for me. Rather, I am interested in avoiding detection that I am using the tor network, specifically when it comes to global adversaries, like NSA and GCHQ.

Would obfs4, snowflake, meek, or webtunnel prevent global adversaries from detecting my tor activity? Would using these protocols in conjunction with a no-logs vpn (you → vpn → tor) increase the chances of not being detected? I want to avoid correlation attacks + I want to avoid being identified as a tor user in general.

If the answer is no or likely not, then should I use bridges at all, given that I am concerned with mass surveillance / bulk collection, not censorship? Or should I not use them?

Thank you for your help.

Not a full answer + I’m not an expert, but

Being hard-to-detect is what makes anti-censorship protocols what they are, so yes. Though you have to keep in mind that those who want to detect Tor usage and not just block it are probably more advanced in what they do.

What I’d consider instead is running a Tor relay from your home, if possible. I believe this should make it hard to distinguish between your Tor activity and your relay’s activity, though you better check if it’s true.

3 Likes

To my understanding the censorship avoidance elemet of tor (bridges) is mostly for people in countries where tor and VPN are blocked or could lead to trouble if proven to have used.

If you don’t live in a country where tor is blocked or discouraged then you don’t really have much need for a bridge.

With your aim being to hide the fact you’re on tor from big agencies I would suggest a decent no logs VPN which requires no information and you should pay using either cash or Monero. Mullvad is a good option.