Does TunnelVision effect Tor?

Hello, I know TunnelVision (malicious DHCP on a connected network such as a free Wifi location) effects VPNs and it should in my limit knowledge effect even double hop VPNs. Does a malicious DHCP on a network effect Tor in any sort of way?

If yes or no can some one please explain why?

Tried to look in to this myself but have not seen any other person ask this question or mention it in any meaningful way.

1 Like

After reading a number of articles on this DHCP tunnelvision attack I will say NO. I am not a Tor expert.

Here is a quote from the best article for which I have no connection.

Successfully executing this attack on a network likely would not allow an attacker to see all of a target’s traffic or browsing activity. That’s because for the vast majority of the websites visited by the target, the content is encrypted (the site’s address begins with https://). However, an attacker would still be able to see the metadata — such as the source and destination addresses — of any traffic flowing by.

All the other articles say the same thing and use the same workflow image. Only this one confirms what I was thinking: unencrypted traffic.

Now the Tor Browser makes all the onion rings necessary (not to be confused with .onion sites) for the destination web site to respond to a query whose reponse is wrapped in onion rings when it comes back. (entry-middle-exit)

What is left? source and destination addresses. The rogue network sees a Tor entry node and the destination web site sees a public WiFi place in a geo-location. Big deal. OK, so a rogue destination can cause damage but this has nothing to do with DHCP tunnelvision nor Tor.

No one explains what info can be harvested using this attack on unencrypted traffic and its worth: DNS, IP addresses. Even google searches have been encrypted since about 2014. And DNS can now be done using https.